This notice gives provision for creation of 5 short films which will tell the story of Gorizia and all the cross-border territory, through its values, its history and its distinctive features being linked to a “border land”. This is in respect to the fact that Nova Goriza and Gorizia has been nominated European Capital of Culture for the year 2025.

How to apply?

The application form for the grant is published on the institutional website of Friuli Venezia Giulia Film Commission.

Is it obligatory to start and end filming at the Transalpine yard?
The project must stipulate that the beginning and the end of the short film take place at the Transalpine railway yard, which may possibly be represented in alternative ways to filming, such as a place even only evoked (photos, archival materials, geolocation, a postcard, a train ticket etc.).

Who do I send the application to?

The application form has to be sent by a certified email to the address:   In the case of foreign productions a registered letter with return receipt (the date of dispatch of the application will prevail) has to be sent to the following address:  

Friuli Venezia Giulia Film Commission – Piazza Duca degli Abruzzi, 3 – 34132 Trieste – Italy;

What is the deadline for the application?

March 31, 2024 – Extended to 02 april 2024 at 23.59

When is the deadline to make the short film?

The short films awarded the grant must be created and delivered, according to the procedures prescribed in the decree, by 30 October 2024

How much is the contribution?

The grants are rewarded up to a maximum of 100,000.00 (one hundred thousand.00) euros and can cover 100% of the expected expenses.

Who can participate?

The contributions are granted to cinematographic and audiovisual production companies, with registered offices:

  • in a country belonging to the European Union.  
  • in a country which is a candidate for EU membership (Albania, Bosnia Herzegovina, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Turkey and Ukraine), 
  • in a country which is a potential candidate for EU membership (Kosovo and Georgia) 
  • in one of the EFTA countries (Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein).

Provided the above have ATECO code 59.11 or 59.12 (or equivalent NACE Rev.2)

Here are the documents you need: